I was reading through The Barbecue! Bible – Sauces, Rubs and Marinades by Steven Raichlen the other day looking over barbecue sauces and saw how many recipes call for adding liquid smoke or smoked salt to them. I’m not a big fan of liquid smoke so I figured I could just go ahead and smoke some of the kosher salt I have. So sure enough, adjusting Raichlen’s method for my Masterbuilt Electric Smoker, I went ahead and took advantage of my day off to do just that.

It was 32°F this morning and since the smoker had been used yesterday, it was still out. I had a good bit of condensation on and in it, so the first thing I did was preheat the smoker to 200°F to dry it out. I used my cold smoker attachment and fired up some hickory chips counting on a strong woody, smoke flavor and dropped the temperature to 100°F on the smoker itself.

Next, I poured about 1/2 cup of Morton’s kosher salt into an aluminum pie plate and spread it out evenly. After an hour in the smoker, it was done.

Here are some photos of the before, and after.

img_6440img_6444

videotogif_1483378368-85514
Morton’s kosher salt before, and then after smoking for an hour with some hickory chips in my Masterbuilt Electric Smoker with cold smoker attachment.
