It’s been a hectic couple of weeks. Hence the lack of posts, but I do have a couple in the backlog that will be coming soon. I took some time and got my ServSafe certification for food handling, I did some pulled pork using a new method on the Weber charcoal grill, and then cooked up a double batch of some homemade meatballs and marinara as part of a surprise birthday dinner for my sister. I’ll be wrapping those posts up soon, but for now, I’m getting things ready for Sunday’s big game.

In just two days, Super Bowl LI is on, and my team – the Patriots are playing the Atlanta Falcons in what’s being billed as a great game. Any other year, we’d be gathering for the game at my mother’s house, but this year she’s visiting my sister in Florida so we’ll be staying home. A few friends and family will be coming over, so I’m working out the details now for the Game Day meal, and I plan to do most of the cooking on Saturday so that Sunday is less frantic.

Here’s what I have planned:

  • Ribs
  • Homemade chicken fingers
  • Smoked deviled eggs

Others will be bringing a few sides etc, but here’s a some notes I have on what my plan is for the items above that I’m responsible for.

The Ribs

I’ll be grill-smoking four racks of St. Louis pork ribs, and will be doing two with the 3-1-1 method I described in my post on the topic, but the other two I plan to do with the original 3-2-1 so I can have a side-by-side comparison of the results.

The Chicken Fingers

A favorite of my kids, I’ll be preparing them from scratch using my go-to recipe for Chicken Nuggets from the folks at Cook’s Country. I’ve done these several times and they always come out great – moist and crunchy. The only difference is that I’ll do them slightly larger trimmed to finger size rather than as nuggets.

Smoked Deviled Eggs

I’ve never smoked eggs before, but since I first saw the idea watching Steven Raichlen’s latest show, I’ve been looking for a reason to give them a try. So, I’ll be following his recipe from his book, Project Smoke.

I’ll be taking plenty of pictures as I work through each of these and will follow-up with detailed posts afterwards, so be sure to check back in a few days. Until then, happy cooking, and Go Pats!

Author’s note: Yes, I caved to the NFL and used the “Big Game” in the headline, and hopefully my link to the NFL page mentioning the name of the game won’t get me in trouble. Oh and in the spirit of full disclosure, the featured image is from our local news station, WHDH.

